UV Water Filter for Whole House Well Water: 5 Units Compared
Size a whole-house UV system by its flow at 40 mJ/cm², not its headline gpm, and remove iron and hardness first. Five well-water UV units compared.
Disclosure: Well Almanac is reader-supported. If you buy through links on this page we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. How this works.
How these were chosen. Picks were compiled from manufacturer spec sheets and product pages plus cited public guidance from NSF reviewers, state rules and university extension services. There was no hands-on testing. Units are ranked by how well their published dose-versus-flow data, certification and water-quality limits fit a private-well owner disinfecting the whole house. Full method.
The picks
-
Best documented dose at whole-house flow
VIQUA VH410 Whole Home UV System
VIQUA, uV disinfection system
VIQUA publishes 14 gpm at 40 mJ/cm², 18 gpm at 30 and 34 gpm at 16 (at 95% UVT), plus clear limits of hardness under 7 gpg, iron under 0.3 mg/L and tannins under 0.1 mg/L. It has a lamp-failure alarm but no UV sensor.
- UV dose / flow
- 34 gpm @ 16 mJ/cm²; 18 gpm @ 30 mJ/cm²; 14 gpm @ 40 mJ/cm²
- Lamp life
- 9,000 hours
- Port size
- 3/4"–1" MNPT combo
- Power consumption
- 60 W
- Price range
- $$ of $$$$
-
For high flow with the prefilters in the box
US Water Systems Pulsar Max Ultraviolet Disinfection System (Up to 20 GPM)
US Water Systems, uV disinfection system
The highest 40 mJ/cm² rating here at 16 gpm (21 gpm at 30, at 95% UVT), a 150 psi maximum, and 5-micron and 1-micron prefilters plus a sub-micron filter included. No NSF/ANSI 55 class or water-quality limits are stated.
- Recommended flow rate
- 20 gpm
- UV dose / flow (95% UVT)
- 39 gpm @ 16 mJ/cm²; 21 gpm @ 30 mJ/cm²; 16 gpm @ 40 mJ/cm²
- Lamp life
- 9,000 hours (about 1 year)
- Port size
- 1" MNPT
- Price range
- $$$$ of $$$$
-
For smaller homes with peak demand around 7 gpm
VIQUA VH200 Whole Home UV System
VIQUA, uV disinfection system
The same controller, alarms and water-quality limits as the VH410, drawing 35 W. Its ratings are 7 gpm at 40 mJ/cm² and 9 gpm at 30, so it only fits a house whose peak flow stays near 7 gpm.
- UV dose / flow
- 16 gpm @ 16 mJ/cm²; 9 gpm @ 30 mJ/cm²; 7 gpm @ 40 mJ/cm²
- Lamp life
- 9,000 hours
- Port size
- 3/4"–1" MNPT combo
- Power consumption
- 35 W
- Price range
- $$ of $$$$
-
Widest pressure range, but no published dose
SpringWell UV Water Purification System (BlackComb)
SpringWell, uV disinfection system
A 15 gpm service rating, a 10–150 psi operating range, published limits (hardness under 7 gpg, iron under 0.3 ppm, tannins under 0.1 ppm) and a lifetime warranty. SpringWell doesn't state the UV dose behind the 15 gpm figure or any NSF/ANSI 55 class.
- Flow rate
- 15 gpm service
- Bathrooms
- 1–7
- Port size
- 1" MNPT
- Operating pressure
- 10–150 psi
- Price range
- $$$ of $$$$
-
For water that already tests safe and needs carbon too
Aquasana Rhino Well Water with UV Whole House Filter
Aquasana, whole-house well filter
A carbon/KDF whole-house filter with a UV stage certified to NSF/ANSI 55 Class B, rated 6.0 gpm (15.0 gpm peak). Class B is for supplemental treatment of water that is already microbiologically safe, so it is not the choice for a coliform-positive well.
- Rated flow rate
- 7.0 gpm (base unit); 6.0 gpm (UV)
- Peak flow rate
- 14.7 gpm (base unit); 15.0 gpm (UV)
- Capacity
- 500,000 gallons or 5 years
- Media
- Carbon and copper-zinc (KDF) media, upflow dual-tank
- Price range
- $$$$ of $$$$
A whole-house UV system for a well has to be judged by the flow it can treat at a real disinfection dose, not by the largest gpm on the box. NSF/ANSI 55 Class A, the class for water that may be contaminated, works to 40 mJ/cm². VIQUA and US Water Systems both publish flow at that dose: 7 gpm for the VIQUA VH200, 14 gpm for the VH410 and 16 gpm for the Pulsar Max. None of the five makers here states a Class A certification, and Aquasana’s UV is Class B. Remove iron, hardness and sediment to each maker’s limits first, or the lamp can’t reach the water.
Class A vs Class B: what NSF/ANSI 55 tells you
An NSF senior technical reviewer, writing in Water Conditioning & Purification, describes the split:
- Class A systems are designed to inactivate microorganisms in contaminated water. They need a UV sensor and an alarm that warns when the system is not working well.
- Class B systems give supplemental treatment to water already considered safe. They are meant for nuisance, non-pathogenic organisms and may not make health-effect claims.
A Water Technology overview gives the doses as 40 mJ/cm² for Class A and 16 mJ/cm² for Class B. Some states write this into rule. Ohio’s private water system code allows only Class A units for continuous disinfection, with a 5-micron absolute prefilter, placement after any softener or iron filter, and an automatic shutoff or warning device.
VIQUA’s 2025 spec sheet labels its 40 mJ/cm² row “NSF/EPA” and lists a UV sensor only on the VH410M. The VH200 and VH410 have none. If your water has tested positive, see coliform in well water before you shop. A UV unit is not a substitute for fixing a well defect.
The five units compared
| VIQUA VH410 | US Water Pulsar Max | VIQUA VH200 | SpringWell UV | Aquasana Rhino with UV | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Flow at 40 mJ/cm² | 14 gpm | 16 gpm | 7 gpm | Not stated | Not stated |
| Flow at 30 mJ/cm² | 18 gpm | 21 gpm | 9 gpm | Not stated | Not stated |
| Flow at 16 mJ/cm² | 34 gpm | 39 gpm | 16 gpm | Not stated | Not stated |
| Headline flow | Not stated beyond dose ratings | 20 gpm recommended | Not stated beyond dose ratings | 15 gpm service | 6.0 gpm rated (UV), 15.0 gpm peak |
| UVT the rating assumes | 95% | 95% | 95% | Not stated | Requires UVT over 75% |
| NSF/ANSI 55 class | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Class B |
| UV sensor | No | Not stated | No | Not stated | Not stated |
| Water-quality limits | Hardness under 7 gpg; iron under 0.3 mg/L; tannins under 0.1 mg/L | Not stated | Same as VH410 | Hardness under 7 gpg; iron under 0.3 ppm; tannins under 0.1 ppm | Iron under 0.3 ppm; Mn under 0.05 ppm; hardness under 7 gpg; tannins under 0.1 ppm; turbidity under 1 NTU |
| Max pressure | 125 psi | 150 psi | 125 psi | 10–150 psi range | 100 psi |
| Lamp | 9,000 h | 9,000 h (about 1 year) | 9,000 h | Every 365 days | About 9,000 h; every 12 months |
| Ports | 3/4 in FNPT / 1 in MNPT combo | 1 in MNPT | 3/4 in FNPT / 1 in MNPT combo | 1 in MNPT | Kit for 3/4 in or 1 in lines |
| Power | 60 W | 51 W | 35 W | Not stated | Not stated |
| Prefilter included | No | 5 µm + 1 µm + sub-micron | No | Optional 5 µm | 20 in sediment prefilter + carbon/KDF |
| Relative cost | $$ | $$$$ | $$ | $$$ | $$$$ |
Sources: VIQUA 2025 spec sheet and product pages; US Water Systems, SpringWell and Aquasana product pages.
Sizing by flow
A UV chamber gives a set dose at a set flow. Push more water through and each gallon gets less light. So start from your home’s peak flow, not its average. The Nebraska DWEE sizing worksheet estimates peak demand as the number of fixtures likely to run at once times 3 gpm. A house that often runs a shower, a washer and a kitchen tap together needs about 9 gpm.
Then read that number against the 40 mJ/cm² row. For 9 gpm, that rules out the VH200 (7 gpm) and leaves the VH410 (14 gpm) or the Pulsar Max (16 gpm). The VIQUA and US Water ratings all assume 95% UV transmittance (UVT), which is very clear water. Aquasana sets its own floor at 75% UVT. If your water is less clear than the rating assumes, leave room between your peak flow and the rated flow.
Pretreatment: iron, hardness, tannins and turbidity
UV only works if light gets through the water and the quartz sleeve. Georgia Extension says color, turbidity and hard-water scale all interfere with UV transmission. Penn State Extension says the water must be clear and that hardness can scale the sleeve. The makers’ limits are consistent:
- Iron under 0.3 mg/L (VIQUA, SpringWell, Aquasana). That matches the EPA’s secondary standard. Aquasana also sets manganese under 0.05 ppm, the EPA secondary level. See iron in well water if you’re above either.
- Hardness under 7 gpg (all three). Above that, a softener goes upstream; Ohio’s rule puts the UV after it.
- Tannins under 0.1 mg/L (VIQUA, SpringWell, Aquasana).
- Turbidity under 1 NTU (Aquasana), and a 5-micron absolute prefilter ahead of the chamber under Ohio’s rule. Our sediment filter roundup covers that stage.
Penn State also sets a ceiling on how dirty the source can be. UV is not recommended where total coliform is above 1,000 colonies per 100 mL or fecal coliform is above 100 per 100 mL.
The picks
VIQUA VH410: best documented dose at whole-house flow
It is rated 14 gpm at 40 mJ/cm², and VIQUA’s spec sheet gives limits, a 125 psi maximum, a 36–104°F water range and 100–240 V input. Its controller shows remaining lamp life and alarms on lamp failure. The cons: no UV sensor (only the VH410M has one), no NSF/ANSI 55 class stated for this model, and no prefilter included. The chamber is 23.5 in long.
US Water Systems Pulsar Max: for high flow with the prefilters in the box
It has the highest published 40 mJ/cm² flow here (16 gpm), a 150 psi maximum and a 5-micron, 1-micron and sub-micron filter train included. The chamber, frame and housings carry a lifetime warranty, and the electronics 4 years. The cons: no NSF/ANSI 55 class, no UV sensor mention and no water-quality limits on the page. The reactor is 36.1 in tall, so measure the wall space.
VIQUA VH200: for smaller homes
It has the same controller and limits as the VH410, drawing 35 W. At 7 gpm at 40 mJ/cm², it has half the VH410’s rated flow, so run the sizing math first.
SpringWell UV: widest pressure range, no published dose
It has a 10–150 psi operating range, published limits and a lifetime warranty with a 6-month money-back guarantee. The con is the one that matters most for disinfection: the page gives a 15 gpm service rating without saying what dose that assumes or naming any NSF/ANSI 55 class. Ask SpringWell for the dose at 15 gpm before comparing it with the units above.
Aquasana Rhino Well Water with UV: for water that already tests safe
This is a different kind of product: a carbon and KDF whole-house filter with a 20 in sediment prefilter and a UV stage. Aquasana states its UV is NSF/ANSI 55 Class B and that the UV is meant for water already treated by a home filtration system. That fits a well with taste or odor issues and a clean bacteria test. It doesn’t fit a coliform-positive well. It is sized for up to 2.5 bathrooms and 4 people.
How to choose
- Test first. Get total coliform and E. coli, plus iron, manganese, hardness and turbidity. Our well water testing guide lists what to order.
- Work out your peak flow and compare it to each unit’s 40 mJ/cm² rating.
- Pretreat to the tightest limit among the units you’re considering.
- Decide whether you need Class A. If the water is or may be contaminated, look for a unit with a UV sensor and a stated Class A certification, and check your state’s rule.
- Plan the power. UV units run continuously. US Water says the Pulsar Max runs nonstop, and an alarm only helps if someone can hear it.
Upkeep: lamp, sleeve and retesting
Four of the five lamps here are rated at about 9,000 hours, roughly a year of continuous running; SpringWell gives a 365-day replacement interval instead. Penn State Extension says intensity drops gradually, so the lamp should be replaced about once a year even if it still glows. Keep the quartz sleeve clean of film or scale. UV also leaves no disinfectant in the pipes after the chamber, so Georgia Extension recommends periodic bacteria tests to confirm it is working.
Who should skip all of these
- Wells over Penn State’s coliform ceiling, or with a well defect that lets contamination in. Fix the source first.
- Water you can’t get clear. If iron, manganese, tannins or turbidity can’t be brought under the limits above, chlorination plus filtration may suit better. See the whole-house water filter guide.
- Drinking-water-only problems like nitrate or arsenic. UV does nothing for dissolved chemicals. See reverse osmosis for well water.
Sources
- VIQUA — VH150, VH200, VH410 and VH410M spec sheet (2025)
Flow at 16/30/40 mJ/cm² at 95% UVT; hardness, iron and tannin limits; 125 psi; 36–104°F; 100–240 V; UV sensor only on VH410M - VIQUA — VH410 product page
Dose-flow ratings, 9,000 h lamp, 60 W, alarms - VIQUA — VH200 product page
Dose-flow ratings, 9,000 h lamp, 35 W, alarms - US Water Systems — Pulsar Max Ultraviolet Disinfection System (up to 20 gpm)
Flow at 16/30/40 mJ/cm² at 95% UVT; 150 psi; 51 W; included prefilters; lamp and warranty - SpringWell — UV Water Purification System
15 gpm service; 10–150 psi; 36–104°F; water-quality limits; optional 5-micron prefilter; warranty - Aquasana — Rhino Well Water with UV Whole House Filter
NSF/ANSI 55 Class B; flow; UV influent limits including turbidity under 1 NTU and UVT over 75%; lamp life - Water Conditioning & Purification — UV Treatment Systems and NSF Standard 55 (Michael Sheffield, NSF)
Class A for contaminated water with UV sensor and alarm; Class B for supplemental treatment, no health claims - Water Technology — NSF 55 UV disinfection systems overview
Class A 40 mJ/cm²; Class B 16 mJ/cm² - Ohio Administrative Code 3701-28-15
Class A required for continuous disinfection; 5-micron absolute prefilter; UV after softening and iron removal; shutoff or warning device - Penn State Extension — Coliform Bacteria
UV not recommended above 1,000 total or 100 fecal coliform per 100 mL; clear water; sleeve scaling; annual lamp; no residual - University of Georgia Extension — Water Quality and Common Treatments for Private Drinking Water Systems (B 939)
Color, turbidity and hardness scale interfere with UV; periodic microbiological testing - EPA — Secondary Drinking Water Standards
Iron 0.3 mg/L; manganese 0.05 mg/L - Nebraska Department of Water, Energy and Environment — Water Systems Sizing and Selection worksheet
Peak demand as simultaneous outlets x 3 gpm