Well Water Test Kit: Strips, Mail-In Kits, Certified Labs

For bacteria and nitrate, use a state-certified lab. Kits screen and help size treatment. Five strip, vial and mail-in kits compared by what they detect.

Disclosure: Well Almanac is reader-supported. If you buy through links on this page we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. How this works.

How these were chosen. Picks were compiled from manufacturer product pages and kit documentation plus the cited public guidance from the CDC, EPA, USGS, Penn State Extension, Nebraska Extension and a 2025 University of Massachusetts Amherst study of home test kits. There was no hands-on testing and no lab comparison of our own. Kits are ranked by how well their stated parameters fit the stated buyer, a private-well owner, and missing details are marked "not stated". Full method.

The picks

  1. Best broad mail-in screen for a first well test

    Safe Home Ultimate Drinking Water Test Kit (In-Lab)

    Safe Home, water test kit

    A 200-parameter lab panel covering 31 metals including arsenic and lead, nitrate-N and nitrite-N, pH, TDS and a 78-compound VOC package, with a separate DIY coliform test included and free return shipping.

    Test type
    Mail-in lab analysis
    Parameters
    200
    Metals
    31, incl. arsenic, lead, copper, selenium
    Physical properties
    12, incl. pH, turbidity, total dissolved solids
    Price range
    $ of $$$$
  2. Best mail-in panel for sizing treatment

    Pentair Home Water Test Kit (Mail-In)

    Pentair, water test kit

    Fifteen lab-run parameters that map to treatment choices, including hardness, iron, manganese, pH, alkalinity and TDS, plus arsenic, lead and nitrates, with a prepaid UPS label and a 3–5 business day report.

    Test type
    Mail-in lab analysis (Pentair water quality labs)
    Parameters
    15
    Contaminants
    Alkalinity, arsenic, chloramines, free chlorine, total chlorine, copper, fluoride, hardness, iron, lead, manganese, nitrates, pH, total dissolved solids, turbidity
    Bacteria
    Not listed
    Price range
    $ of $$$$
  3. Best strip kit for checks between lab tests

    Safe Home 14-in-1 Ultimate Drinking Water Combo Test Kit

    Safe Home, water test kit

    302 tests across 14 parameters, including total coliform and lead, for repeated at-home checks of a treatment system, with an optional add-on analysis at Safe Home's EPA-certified lab for an extra fee.

    Test type
    DIY at-home (test strips plus one-time lead and bacteria tests)
    Parameters
    14
    Named contaminants
    Total coliform bacteria, lead (full list only in product image)
    Tests per kit
    302 (27 testing mechanisms)
    Price range
    $ of $$$$
  4. Best quick coliform screen after shock chlorination

    Safe Home DIY Bacteria in Water Test Kit (1 Pack)

    Safe Home, water test kit

    A presence/absence vial for coliform bacteria including E. coli, stated to detect a single organism with results in 6 to 72 hours, for checking a well between certified lab tests or after disinfection.

    Test type
    DIY presence/absence vial
    Detects
    Coliform bacteria incl. E. coli (over 50 species)
    Sensitivity
    Down to 1 organism
    Time to result
    As fast as 6 hours, never more than 72 hours
    Price range
    $ of $$$$
  5. Best compact at-home screen with a low lead threshold

    Watersafe Drinking Water Test Kit

    Watersafe, water test kit

    Screens nine contaminants including lead, bacteria, iron, copper, chlorine and nitrates, with a stated lead detection level of 5 ppb, a third of the EPA's 15 ppb lead action level.

    Test type
    At-home kit
    Contaminants
    9, incl. lead, bacteria, iron, copper, chlorine, nitrates
    Lead detection
    5 ppb
    Bacteria detection
    1 bacteria/mL
    Price range
    $ of $$$$

For the tests that decide whether well water is safe to drink, total coliform bacteria and nitrate above all, use a state-certified laboratory. The CDC and EPA both say so, and many counties offer the test free or at low cost. Home kits are useful for screening, for sizing a softener or iron filter, and for checking a treatment system between lab tests. Of the five kits we compared, the Safe Home Ultimate mail-in kit gives the broadest first look at a well and the Pentair mail-in kit is best for sizing treatment. The Safe Home strip and bacteria kits and the Watersafe kit handle quick at-home checks.

Strip kit, mail-in kit or certified lab?

OptionGood forWeak spotPicks here
State-certified lab (through your health department, county or extension office)Bacteria, nitrate, arsenic, lead: any result you will act on for healthYou arrange sampling and drop-off; bacteria samples are time-limitedNot a product; find one through the EPA’s list of state certification programs
Mail-in kit run by the seller’s labA wide first screen; numbers for sizing treatmentCertifying body often not named; some reports come with product recommendationsSafe Home Ultimate, Pentair
At-home strips and vialsQuick, repeatable checks of hardness, pH, chlorine and treatment performanceAccuracy near health limits; low iron missed in a 2025 studySafe Home 14-in-1, Safe Home bacteria, Watersafe

The CDC’s annual baseline for a private well is total coliform bacteria, nitrate, total dissolved solids and pH. The EPA’s private-well page says to use only labs certified for drinking water testing. USGS points well owners to their county first, because some counties test for free, then to the EPA directory of state-certified labs. Penn State Extension puts a total coliform test at roughly $10 to $30. Our well water testing guide covers the full schedule and how to read results.

The picks at a glance

PickTypeParametersBacteriaNitrateLab certification statedTurnaround
Safe Home Ultimate (In-Lab)Mail-in lab200Separate DIY coliform/E. coli kit includedYes (nitrate-N, nitrite-N)“Certified laboratory testing”; certifying body not named7–10 business days after arrival
Pentair Home Water Test KitMail-in lab15Not listedYesNot stated3–5 business days
Safe Home 14-in-1At-home strips plus one-time lead and bacteria tests14Yes (total coliform)Not statedOptional EPA-certified lab analysis, extra feeNot stated
Safe Home DIY BacteriaAt-home presence/absence vial1 (coliform incl. E. coli)YesNoBatches QC-checked at an EPA-certified lab6–72 hours
WatersafeAt-home kit, format not stated9Yes (1 bacteria/mL)YesNot statedNot stated

Details are as published on each maker’s product page. “Not stated” means we could not find it there.

The picks

Safe Home Ultimate (In-Lab) — best broad mail-in screen for a first well test

This kit sends a sample to Safe Home’s lab for 200 parameters: 31 metals (arsenic, lead, copper and selenium among them), 12 physical properties including pH, turbidity and TDS, 7 inorganics including nitrate-N, nitrite-N, fluoride and sulfate, and an organics list that includes pesticides, herbicides, a trihalomethane package and a 78-compound VOC package. Safe Home says it is used mostly by well owners. Return shipping is included for US residents.

Cons: Bacteria are not in the lab panel; the included coliform test is a DIY vial. The page says “certified laboratory testing” but does not name the certifying body or say whether the lab is state-certified for drinking water in your state. Results take 7–10 business days after the sample arrives. Uranium and PFAS are not listed.

Pentair Home Water Test Kit — best mail-in panel for sizing treatment

Pentair’s 15 parameters include the ones that decide equipment: hardness, iron, manganese, pH, alkalinity and TDS for a softener or iron filter, plus arsenic, copper, lead, fluoride, nitrates, turbidity and three chlorine measures. The kit includes a prepaid UPS label and Pentair emails results in 3–5 business days.

Cons: No bacteria test is listed. Lab certification is not stated. Pentair says the report includes its recommended Pentair products; Penn State Extension advises caution with results from uncertified labs or water treatment salespeople, so confirm any health-related number at a certified lab.

Safe Home 14-in-1 — best strip kit for checks between lab tests

With 302 tests from 27 testing mechanisms across 14 parameters, this kit is built for repeated checks of a well or treatment system over time. It includes total coliform and lead tests and offers optional analysis at Safe Home’s EPA-certified lab for an extra fee.

Cons: The product page names only total coliform and lead; the full list of 14 is in a product image. In the UMass Amherst study of eight kits, multi-parameter tests were generally less consistent than single-parameter tests and none detected low iron.

Safe Home DIY Bacteria — best quick coliform screen after shock chlorination

A single presence/absence vial that Safe Home says detects more than 50 coliform species including E. coli, down to one organism, with results in as little as 6 hours and no more than 72. Batches are quality-checked at Safe Home’s EPA-certified lab.

Cons: One test per pack, and a home vial result is a screen. A positive, or a well that serves an infant or pregnant household member, calls for a certified lab test; see coliform in well water. Sample volume and incubation temperature are not stated.

Watersafe — best compact at-home screen with a low lead threshold

Watersafe covers nine contaminants including lead, bacteria, iron, copper, chlorine and nitrates and is labeled for tap or well water. Its stated lead detection level is 5 ppb, below the EPA’s lead action level of 0.015 mg/L (15 ppb).

Cons: The test format, time to result, the remaining contaminants and the nitrate detection level are not stated. The bacteria test is stated at 1 bacterium per mL; a lab presence/absence result flags a single bacterium in 100 mL (Penn State), so the lab test is the more sensitive by that comparison. No lab certification is claimed.

How to choose

Match the kit to the question

  • “Is my water safe to drink?” Certified lab, for coliform and nitrate at minimum. The EPA nitrate limit is 10 mg/L as nitrogen; our nitrates in well water page covers what to do above it.
  • “What equipment do I need?” A mail-in mineral panel (Pentair) or broad panel (Safe Home Ultimate), confirmed at a certified lab before a large purchase. Nebraska Extension advises verifying the problem with an approved lab when considerable investment is involved.
  • “Is my treatment still working?” Strips and vials, between annual lab tests.

Check who certified the lab

“Certified” on a kit page can mean many things. Ask which state program certified the lab, for which tests. The EPA’s list of state certification programs is the reference.

Read home results skeptically

The 2025 UMass Amherst study tested eight kits for iron, copper, manganese and fluoride against lab measurements. Single-parameter tests were generally more accurate than multi-parameter ones; at high iron, most multi-parameter tests still underestimated the concentration. Kits did better in deionized water than real water, and the researchers called kit results a “first cut.” Nebraska Extension likewise says greater reliability can be expected from laboratory testing.

Who should skip all of these

  • Anyone testing to decide if water is safe for a baby, a pregnancy or a household with recurring stomach illness. Go straight to a state-certified lab, as the CDC and EPA advise.
  • Owners whose county or state runs a free or low-cost well testing program. USGS says some counties test for free; check before buying a kit.
  • Anyone with a known problem like orange stains or a sulfur smell. Order a targeted lab test; see iron in well water for the follow-up numbers. If hardness is the question, the water softener guide explains the thresholds.

Sources

  1. CDC — Guidelines for Testing Well Water
    Annual total coliform, nitrate, TDS and pH; use a state-certified lab; triggers for extra testing
  2. EPA — Protect Your Home's Water (private wells)
    Annual testing list; only use labs certified for drinking water; local health departments may test free
  3. EPA — Certification programs and certified laboratories for drinking water
  4. USGS — Where can I get my well water tested?
    Some counties offer free well testing; EPA directory of state-certified labs
  5. Penn State Extension — Is Your Private Water Supply Suitable for Drinking?
    Use a certified lab; be cautious of results from uncertified labs or treatment salespeople; about half of supplies never tested
  6. Penn State Extension — Coliform Bacteria
    Presence means at least one bacterium in 100 mL; total coliform test about $10 to $30
  7. University of Nebraska–Lincoln NebGuide G1491 — Water Softening (Ion Exchange)
    Greater reliability with laboratory testing; verify with an approved lab before a large investment
  8. University of Massachusetts Amherst — Are At-Home Water Tests Worth It? (study in Journal of Water & Health, 2025)
    Eight kits for iron, copper, manganese and fluoride; single-parameter tests more consistent; multi-parameter tests missed low iron
  9. EPA — National Primary Drinking Water Regulations
    Nitrate 10 mg/L as N; lead action level 0.015 mg/L
  10. Safe Home — Ultimate Drinking Water Test Kit (In-Lab)
  11. Pentair — Home Water Test Kit
  12. Safe Home — 14-in-1 Ultimate Drinking Water Combo Test Kit
  13. Safe Home — DIY Bacteria in Water Test Kit
  14. Silver Lake Research — Watersafe Drinking Water Test Kit